wakelet wakelet

Wakelet Community Week

1st - 5th June 2020

What is Community Week all about?

Wakelet Community week will be a celebration of all the amazing and inspiring things educators in the community do every day! It will be packed with webinars, special guest speakers, exciting competitions, and new Wakelet feature announcements!

wakelet live Wakelet Live!

An exclusive, action packed event recapping on the year, announcing amazing new features and sharing inspiring stories from our community!

webbinars Webinars & Keynote Sessions

Live sessions about education, remote learning, pedagogy, and more. Led by educators and thought leaders from around the world!

competitions Daily Competitions

Dozens of exciting prizes to be won each day of Community Week! We’ll be hosting competitions, raffles, prize draws and more for you to win!
Terms & Conditions apply

The Main Stage!

The Art of AppSmashing! with Kathi Kersznowski and Seth Fewell Tuesday, June 02 BST 17:30, PT 09:30, ET 12:30,
CT 11:30, IST 22:00
Re-live the session
Connecting the Community: Race & Culture - Where we are, and where we should be going with Ken Shelton Wednesday, June 03 BST 17:30, PT 09:30, ET 12:30,
CT 11:30, IST 22:00
Re-live the session
Tech Like A PIRATE! with Matt Miller Thursday, June 04 BST 17:30, PT 09:30, ET 12:30,
CT 11:30, IST 22:00
Re-live the session
Working as a Team to Win the Game! with Rio Ferdinand Friday, June 05 BST 16:00, PT 08:00, ET 11:00,
CT 10:00, IST 20:30
Re-live the session
The Power of an Infused Classroom with Holly Clark Friday, June 05 BST 17:30, PT 09:30, ET 12:30,
CT 11:30, IST 22:00
Re-live the session

Community Week Schedule!

We'll provide Certificates of Attendance for every session in Community Week. If you want, you'll also have the opportunity to gain Grad Credits for these sessions!

Day 1 Monday, June 01
live icons
17:00 - 18:00 BST PT 09:00 ET 12:00 CT 11:00 IST 21:30
wakelet
live

Kick off Community Week with Wakelet Live - we’ll be sharing our best moments of the last year, announcing some awesome new updates and features, and celebrating the thing that makes Wakelet so special - YOU!

Watch now
Day 2 Tuesday, June 02
16:00 - 17:00 BST PT 08:00 ET 11:00 CT 10:00 IST 20:30
How Students use Wakelet

Tisha Poncio, Deb Zeman and SWAT Team

Find out how students from a school in Texas are using Wakelet in so many different ways! This session is extra special as we’ve invited the students to speak, so you’ll hear about their experiences firsthand!

Re-live the session
17:30 - 18:30 BST PT 09:30 ET 12:30 CT 11:30 IST 22:00
MAIN STAGE: The Art of AppSmashing!

Kathi Kersznowski and Seth Fewell

AppSmashing - the art of taking two or more educational tools, and using them together to achieve amazing learning outcomes. Join the Queen of AppSmashing, Kathi Kersznowski, and the amazing Seth Fewell as they take you through some of their favourite EdTech combos!

Re-live the session
19:00 - 20:00 BST PT 11:00 ET 14:00 CT 13:00 IST 23:30
Collaborate with Wakelet

Anna Dyagileva and Tisha Poncio

Join Anna and Tish as they show you how to use Wakelet’s collaboration feature to supercharge engagement and teamwork in their learning communities! If you’re a newbie, or just looking for ways to help your students work better as teams - this one’s for you!

Re-live the session
Day 3 Wednesday, June 03
15:00 - 15:30 BST PT 07:00 ET 10:00 CT 09:00 IST 19:30
How school leaders use Wakelet

Mariah Rackley

Join Principal Mariah Rackley to hear how her school is using Wakelet to improve communication and engagement for students, teachers, and the wider school community!

Re-live the session
16:00 - 17:00 BST PT 08:00 ET 11:00 CT 10:00 IST 20:30
How to Use Wakelet in the Classroom!

Joe Merrill, Kristin Merrill and Brandi Reams

Joe, Kristin and Brandi will be showcasing all the exciting ways you can use Wakelet in your classrooms and learning communities! This is the perfect session for you to get some great ideas on how you can start using Wakelet in the next school year.

Re-live the session
17:30 - 18:30 BST PT 09:30 ET 12:30 CT 11:30 IST 22:00
MAIN STAGE: Connecting the Community: Race & Culture - Where we are, and where we should be going

Ken Shelton

Join TedX Speaker and Equity Specialist Ken Shelton for a “town hall” type discussion about the challenges we face around inequality, social justice and systemic racism.

Re-live the session
19:00 - 20:00 BST PT 11:00 ET 14:00 CT 13:00 IST 23:30
Wake Up! Top 10 Ways to Boost Productivity and Creativity With Wakelet

Amy Storer, Kristina Holzweiss, Brad Dale and Leticia Citizen

Wakelet can be used in SO many different ways. Join this innovative panel of rockstar educators as they share their favourite ways of using Wakelet to boost productivity and creativity inside and outside the classroom!

Re-live the session
Day 4 Thursday, June 04
15:00 - 16:00 BST PT 07:00 ET 10:00 CT 09:00 IST 19:30
Wakelet in the Library!

Deb Zeman, Kristina Holzweiss, Sherry Gick and Shannon Miller

Deb, Kristina, Sherry and Shannon will be showing you how they’ve been using Wakelet to create memorable and fun learning experiences for students in the library. This session is perfect if you want to discover some unique and creative ways to use Wakelet with your students - even if you don’t work in a library setting!

Re-live the session
16:30 - 17:15 BST PT 08:30 ET 11:30 CT 10:30 IST 21:00
Using Wakelet as a Tech Coach!

Manny Curiel and Jenallee

The awesome Manny and the fabulous team Jenallee will be showcasing how useful Wakelet can be for tech coaches, integrators and instructors. Learn how to share resources better, improve communication, and really impact the educators in your learning community!

Re-live the session
17:30 - 18:30 BST PT 09:30 ET 12:30 CT 11:30 IST 22:00
MAIN STAGE: Tech Like A PIRATE!

Matt Miller

Matt Miller from DitchThatTexbook throws tradition out of the window in this groundbreaking session - showing YOU how to use technology in powerful and effective new ways! Discover some amazing new ideas, tips and techniques from one of the most innovative minds in education!

Re-live the session
19:00 - 20:00 BST PT 11:00 ET 14:00 CT 13:00 IST 23:30
Microsoft & Wakelet - Better Together!

Mike Tholfsen and Becky Keene

Mike and Becky take you through some of the powerful integrations between Wakelet and the Microsoft suite of tools. Discover ways to combine Wakelet with Teams, OneNote, OneDrive and more achieve better and more effective workflows for you and your learning community!

Re-live the session
Day 5 Friday, June 05
16:00 - 17:00 BST PT 08:00 ET 11:00 CT 10:00 IST 20:30
MAIN STAGE: Working as a Team to Win the Game!

Rio Ferdinand

Rio Ferdinand is a retired British Soccer player, and is now a television personality/pundit for BT Sport. He played most of his career at Manchester United, and represented England 81 times. Widely regarded as one of England's greatest athletes, we’ll be talking to him about the power of teamwork, and how to work effectively with your colleagues to win the game!

Re-live the session
17:30 - 18:30 BST PT 09:30 ET 12:30 CT 11:30 IST 22:00
MAIN STAGE: The Power of an Infused Classroom

Holly Clark

Holly Clark guides you through the concept of “The Infused Classroom”! She’ll be showing you how to combine educational tools, learning techniques, and powerful lesson plans - helping you take your teaching to the next level!

Re-live the session
19:00 - 20:00 BST PT 11:00 ET 14:00 CT 13:00 IST 23:30
Happy Hour! Fun ways to Use Wakelet Outside the Classroom!

Randall Sampson, Karyn Fillhart and Karalee Nakatsuka

We end Community Week with the funnest session around! Join the power squad of Randall, Karyn and Karalee as they share their favorite ways to use Wakelet outside of education!

Re-live the session